2022 reflections✨

Drafting this article while setting up my study table. I’m fasting today. Shani thrayodashi it is 😇

FYI, I’m a South Indian (Andhra Pradesh). We follow a different calendar. According to North, Shravan month has already begun but it’s still Aashadam for us. Also, I heard North Shravan is for Lord Shiva and Mondays are auspicious but in South Shravan, we worship Goddess Lakshmi and Fridays are auspicious. Aren’t the differences pretty? 😍 Please correct me if I’ve incorrectly understood the culture! 🙏

Anyway, let’s get to the crux of the blog. This has been in my drafts for 4 months. I managed to publish it today. Want to keep it as short as possible.

2022 has not been a best year but definitely learnt a lot. The first half was about exploring coding and my domain (Electronics and Communication) as a career.

  • The folks in front (+ behind) of me and close friends that time were 40% of the reason I graduated.
  • Although I could code well enough to get an entry-level job, I chose not to pick that field since I cannot have my life (atleast 20s and early 30s) in front of a machine and banging my head only to realise I’ve missed a ‘;’ in one line out of 2000+ lines 🤡 (Yes. I’m exaggerating). Eliminated the choice.
  • Interning in a core subject confirmed my point – I’m not cut out for core(EC) jobs. Additionally, I figured the kind of peers and environment I needed to grow along with the company. Eliminated the choice but living with the learnings.
  • Understood the extremes I can go if I’m immersed into something.
    • Went unprepared for the last paper of my last semester to sit for ELDP finals. Barely filled 8 pages (out of a 32-pages booklet). Feels like a tiny risk now but it was a mountain at that time.

I officially started earning in the second half of 2022 – the half that taught me patience and choosing people.

  • Had ‘work for a startup’ in my bucket list. Never thought I’d launch my career with one 😂 It’s a manifestation come true.
    • I stretched beyond my capabilities to learn things. Also, I figured my kind of people only after I discovered not-my-kind.
  • Lived with 500/- for 10 days when I promised myself that I’d never repeat this situation.
    • Of course I have amazing friends who send 1000/- when I ask 100/- but, the problem is/was, asking. 😅
  • Complaining changes absolutely nothing 😬 Figure out a solution and quickly act upon it.
    • The previous PG I lived in had no basic standards of cleanliness and hygiene. As a fuel to the fire, my roommate wasn’t hygienic either. I spoke to her about the same. Nothing changed. Spoke to the hostel manager regarding the same. Nothing changed. So, I shifted. Humbly. ☺️
  • I was cut by some people. I cut ties with some.
    • Totally aware that I’m no saint. I made/make mistakes. I own it up.
    • There’s ‘good’ and there’s ‘good for you’. I learned this at the expense of my energy.

Had a nostalgia of 2022 while drafting this. Thank Shiva it was moderately tough 😌

That’s it for this article. Will get back solving that damn difficult Sudoku I’ve been on since more than a week. 🤡

~Namah Shivaya 🙏

Published by Nikitha Addala

Proud Ambivert.

Leave a comment

Discover more from Mischief Managed

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started