Personal branding

Learning about self-branding lately. This is something I understood from my observations:

  • When I say Elon Musk, you hear Tesla.
  • When I say Steve Jobs, you hear Apple
  • When I say Ambani, you hear ‘rich’.
  • When I say Adolf Hitler, you hear Germany (and Nazis).
  • When I say Bangalore, you hear startup.
  • When I say government, you hear corruption.
  • When I say cricket, you hear Sachin Tendulkar.
    • Saurav Ganguly. I looove the attitude he brought into cricket.

Notice how people remember something because of them?

You should be known for something apart from your resume. The college you attended or the company you worked for shouldn’t be your whole story.

In no way I mean “Go bIg Or gO HoMe”. You don’t have to be extremely good at something to start branding yourself.

I had no idea about blogging until early May 2021. I understood if I keep reading about “How to start blogging?” or “What should I blog about?” I’d never start.

Instead, I just went ahead and started blogging. “What’s the worst that could happen?” My gut said “hardly anything!”

My first post was on 11th June, 2021. Forget about sharing, I never thought I’d be able to write stuff on the internet that is worth somebody’s time. I shared it with 2-3 people. That’s it.

Eventually, I came out of my cocoon and started sharing my articles on Whatsapp. And then Instagram (the only reason I’m back). In 6 months, it got 2000 hits! Huge milestone! ❤

I don’t know a lot about this vertical; I’m working on it. Tejaswini Indala reads my articles before I share them. I go to her because:

  • She is awesome.
  • She reads blogs (and books) and knows a little about writing.
  • She gives feedback from a 3rd eye view (exactly what I look for) and not because I’m her friend.

The blog is a tiny part of who I am. I’m beginning to love this space because I share whatever I feel. How long am I going to do this? I don’t know. I don’t intend to think ‘5-years-from-now’ because given the situation, I can see myself living the pAnDemIc. That’s it. Nothing less. Nothing more.

From my galleryyy

Start slow but, start. 🥂

Did you ever ask your people what strikes when they hear your name?

~Adios!

Published by Nikitha Addala

Proud Ambivert.

Leave a comment

Discover more from Mischief Managed

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started