Harry Potter

Drafting this article after having my dinner. It was rajma today ❤

I walked in the Durgam Cheruvu Park and after a long time, I thought about nothing. I sat on a bench admiring the sky which wore a sunset orange saree with a violet gradient border and a bright twinkling star was its virmillion. Ahh! Can still visualize as I type!

Anyway, my sibling introduced me to Harry Potter in 5th or 6th grade but I ignored (like many texts on WhatsApp) but my school friend (Srinidhi, I love you!) suggested the series in my 7th grade. Ever since, I’ve been a loyal potterhead (and a proud Gryffindor).

Harry Potter has been my childhood. Watching the movie multiple times wouldn’t make any sense if I had no takeaways aaanndd, that’s exactly this blog is about. 8 lessons I imbibed from Harry Potter and all the series combined:

  • “It takes a great deal of bravery to stand up to our enemies, but just as much to stand up to our friends.”
    • Standing up for our friends does not mean we support their wrongs; it means we do not support their wrongs even if it hurts their feelings.
    • We’re afraid our honesty will cost us that valuable friendship. Sometimes, friends can’t handle honesty and/or confrontation, and as soon as there’s even a hint of that, they’re gone.
  • “It is our choices, Harry, that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities”
    • Actions over words. At. Any. Given. Time.
  • “I am what I am an’ I’m not ashamed” ~ Hagrid
    • I’m blessed AND grateful for everything I have today. Less or more? I don’t need to know.
    • Also, I loooove Hagrid ❤
  • “If you want to know what a man’s like, take a good look at how he treats his inferiors, not his equals”
    • Most of the families that went from rags to riches have unlearned the basics after tasting the money (personal experience).
  • It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be.
  • It is the quality of one’s convictions that determines success, not the number of followers.
    • Ahhh! Convictions = belief. Doing the right thing is not (always) easy but, do we have a choice even? 🙂
  • “Do not pity the dead, Harry. Pity the living, and, above all, those who live without love.” ~ Albus Dumbledore
    • Amma always says this! She said there are people who treat others like crap and when they die, the same people start appreciating their presence with a garland of flowers.
  • Mischeif managed
    • Did this. Doing this. Will keep doing this. 😀

A school friend (Aditya) and I argued (read as ‘fought’) a lot because he never understood the hype for Harry Potter that time + he was a Narnia fanboy. God! he was stubborn for Narnia but only until he watched Harry Potter; he loved it as well. Haha!

What’s your favoutrite movie quote that stayed with you after years?

~Adios! Will be watching an old movie now!

P.S: Nanna NEVER liked when I read the novels or watched the series because I did not care about anything that was happening next to me + it was only 96th time I’m re-doing it. “It’s always new!” I said in my defense. Haha :p

* Nox *

Published by Nikitha Addala

Proud Ambivert.

Leave a comment

Discover more from Mischief Managed

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started