Sub-conscious thoughts

Drafting this article after a nice nap 😄

Subconscious impressions are important.

Nobody picks when you txt lyk dis on a professional space but it pokes while reading the message and leaves low impression. Hence, stop those damn informal texts that leave slouchy impressions. (I hate informal texting style. I hardly reply to texts let alone in that style? O o. * Sorry not sorry 😤*). Sentences like:

  • “Please don’t get me wrong but I think…”
    • You’re telling the listener that there’s a probability that you might be wrong.
  • “Don’t judge me but I love pine apple pizza”
    • you’re giving room to be judged.
  • “I thought you wouldn’t like it!”
    • You’re making me regret for liking it 🥲

The alternatives to get intended response could be:

  • I’d like to know your thoughts.
  • I’m surprised but glad that you liked it!
  • Let me know your views on this.

I mean, there’s no thesaurus to this. I just gave examples that I could make up at this moment.

I hear the vibe-setting phrases regularly. After listening, I ask, “What made you think I’d feel/think that way?” because most of the time, it would end on a good note!

Use phrases that are generic such that you don’t set the vibe of whatever is being delivered. 🙂

Aaanndd, don’t get me wrong but do drop you ratings! 🤭

~Adios!

Published by Nikitha Addala

Proud Ambivert.

Leave a comment

Discover more from Mischief Managed

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started